Fax | 807-344-2977
Toll Free | 1-800-463-2249

Our Partners

Through our work, Matawa often coordinates with a number of partner organizations that specialize in providing services to our communities. This is done through informal and formal agreements (see Memorandum of Understandings at the end).

In many instances, we also have representation on their governing bodies and/or ad-hoc/permanent committees/councils. Our representatives ensure that the voices of different generations and groups within our communities are heard and considered.

Terms of expiry and method of selection varies amongst each of our partners (ie. some may be appointed by First Nations Chiefs and Councils, some may be by vote, some are based on regional locations or Tribal Council, etc.). Periodically, vacancies become available to Matawa members. These will be posted on our website here: http://www.matawa.on.ca/recruitment/career-opportunities/ under ‘Request for Proposals/Call for Expressions of Interest.’ They will also be advertised on social media.

We are currently working to update specific dates for term expiries—return back for further information.

For more information, contact:


Representation by Our Community Members
Partner Representative Term Expiry
Kan-na-chi-hi Specialized Solvent Treatment Centre Elizabeth Moore (Constance Lake)
Kiikenomaga Kikenjigewen Employment and Training Services (KKETS) Board of Directors Nibinamik – Richard Roundhead
Eabametoong – Lawrence Atlookan
Ginoogaming – Maurice Waboose
Aroland – Joe Baxter, President
Neskantaga – Kelvin Moonias
Constance Lake – Ron Wesley
Webequie – Norman Shewaybick
Marten Falls – Josie Baxter
(Matawa) Social Services Framework Awashishewiigiihiwaywiin Advisory Committee Constance Lake – Vacant
Marten Falls – Vacant
Aroland – Vacant
Ginoogaming – Maryann Charles
Long Lake #58 – Noreen Agnew
Eabametoong – Vacant
Neskantaga – Alex Ostamus
Nibinamik – Vacant
Webequie – Levi Sofea
(Matawa) Broadband Working Group Aroland – Sam Kashkeesh
Marten Falls – Rob Moonias
Eabametoong – Donald Meeseetawageesic
Neskantaga – Edward Moonias, Gary Quisses
Webequie – James Suganaqueb, Glen Wabasse
Nibinamik – Matthew Sofea, Byron Wapoose, Harvey Yellowhead, Gershom Beaver
Matawa First Nations Education Authority Elder – George Whitehead
Webequie Education Director – Ennis Jacob
Aroland Education Portfolio Holder – Annmarie Majiskon/Magiskan
Nibinanik Education Director – Mary Oskineegish
Marten Falls Education Director – Wanda Coaster
Eabametoong Education Director – Nancy Waswa
Neskantaga Education Director – Tony Sakanee
Ginoogaming Education Portfolio Holder – Victor Chapais
Matawa Health Co-operative Eabametoong Health Director – Robert Baxter, President/Chair
Aroland Health Director – Annabelle Mendowegan, Vice-Chair/President
Ginoogaming Health Director – Kelly Fortier
Constance Lake Health Director – Vacant
Webequie Health Director – Jeffrey Jacob
Marten Falls Health Director – Evelyn Baxter
Nibinamik Health Director – Vacant
Neskantaga Health Director– Sharon Sakanee
Long Lake # 58 Health Director – Vacant
(Matawa) Rapid Lynx Telecommunications Board of Directors Aroland – Sam Kashkeesh
Marten Falls – Rob Moonias
Eabametoong – Ben Waswa (interim)
Neskantaga – Edward Moonias
Webequie – James Suganaqueb
Nibinamik – Matthew Sofea
(Matawa) Regional Priorities & Jurisdiction Working Group Ginoogaming – Calvin Taylor
Long Lake #58 – Ervin Waboose
Webequie – Gordon Wabasse
Aroland – Joe Baxter
Neskantaga – Peter Moonias
Constance Lake – Charles Baxter Sr.
Nibinamik First Nation – Tommy Yellowhead
MOU Partner Steering Committee • Matawa
PCL Constructors
Enterprise Canada
Enterprise Capital
Ontario Power Generation
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Children and Youth Task Force Robyn Bunting (Constance Lake)
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Legal Services Corporation (NALSC) Board Director: Lisa Echum (Ginoogaming) Alternate: Bertha Sutherland (Constance Lake) Elder: Sarah Waboose (Eabametoong) January 20 2024
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Police Services (NAPS) Board Robert Moonias January 20 2024
Ojibway and Cree Cultural Centre Cathy Therriault (Aroland)
Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority | Chiefs Committee on Health Chief Harvey Yesno (Eabametoong)
Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre Roy Spence (Webequie)
Tikinagan Child and Family Services Sonny Gagnon (Aroland)
Wequedong Lodge Wayne Moonias (Neskantaga)


Representation by our Staff
Partner Representative Term Expiry
Cancer Care Ontario Tricia Atlookan
Confederation College | Negahneewin College of Indigenous Studies Georgette O’Nabigon
District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board – Community Homelessness Prevention Initiative (CHPI) Advisory Table Carol Audet December 2023
First Mile Connectivity Consortium David Paul Achneepineskum
Indigenous Peoples’ Court Committee Paul Capon
Lakehead University | Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council Paul Capon
Mamow Ahyamowen Partnership Francine Pellerin, Paul Capon
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Committee on Health Francine Pellerin
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Food Security Committee Tricia Atlookan
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Health Transformation Advisory Councils Francine Pellerin
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Health Transformation Joint Action Committee Paul Capon
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Education Committee Sharon Nate
Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Women’s Council Ila Beaver
Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (OFNTSC) Wes Bova
Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE) Wes Bova
Seven Youth Inquest Recommendations (Main and #114 Youth Detox) Brad Battiston and Stephanie Ritch
Thunder Bay Aboriginal Inter-Agency Committee & Urban Aboriginal Strategy Paul Capon
Thunder Bay Anti-Racism & Respect Advisory Committee Carol Audet
Thunder Bay Crime Prevention Council Paul Capon
Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre Aboriginal Advisory Committee Francine Pellerin
Thunder Bay Community Safety and Wellbeing Advisory Table Paul Capon
Thunder Bay Housing and Homelessness Coalition Paul Capon
Thunder Bay Released from Custody Table Paul Capon
Vulnerable Persons Table of Thunder Bay Paul Capon


Memorandum of Understandings


Date modified: 2021-12-08